SHOP OUR HOLIDAY GIFT GUIDE!



Utopia: A Novel

Heidi Sopinka

Regular price $32.00

Out of the explosive 1970s L.A. art scene comes a riveting novel about two feminist artists—one dies mysteriously, and the other takes her place—for fans of Emma Cline, Lauren Groff, and Sheila Heti.

Paz, an ambitious young artist, is drawn to Romy, one of the only women to break into the male-dominated art scene of 1970s California. She is also drawn to Romy’s husband, Billy, an enigmatic art star. When Romy dies suddenly under mysterious circumstances, Billy is left unmoored, caring for their newborn.

Fresh out of art school, Paz takes on the mantle of Romy’s life and steps into a ghostly love triangle. When Paz attempts to claim her creative life, strange things start to happen—photographs move, an unexplained postcard arrives, and an unsettling journal entry begins to blur the line between art and life.

As Paz becomes increasingly obsessed with the woman she has replaced and the absent man she has married, a disturbing picture begins to emerge, driving her deep into the desert to uncover the truth.

Astonishing and artful, Utopia affirms Heidi Sopinka as one of the most exhilarating voices in Canadian literature today. A propulsive mix of friendship, love, and betrayal, Utopia illuminates a crucible moment for art and feminism, which still reverberates today. This is both a visionary love story and a feminist manifesto that will leave you altered.

Hardcover || 320 pages || 5.50" x 8.25"