883 Queen Street West
416-366-8973
mon-weds 10am-6pm
thurs-sat 10am-7pm
sun 11am-6pm
427 Spadina Road
416-487-8973
mon-sat 10am-6pm
sun 11am-6pm

MARCH READING LIST

What TYPE thinks you should be reading this March


LIMINAL by Jordan Tannahill

This riotous unforgettable debut novel by playwright and director Tannahill combines androids, cannibals, sex clubs, and a son's love for his mother. Equal parts millennial saga and ontological thriller, it's for fans of Ben Lerner or Rachel Cusk.

ASYMMETRY by Lisa Halliday
At its heart a study of power and justice in art making and war, this debut novel by Halliday tells three intertwined stories, one featuring a May-December romance, which may or not be loosely based on the author's past relationship with Philip Roth. Funny and erudite.

THE UNMAPPED COUNTRY: STORIES & FRAGMENTS by Ann Quin
This new collection of rare and unpublished writing by 1960s working-class avant-garde writer Ann Quin explores the risks and allure of living life close to the edge. Virginia Woolf by way of Kathy Acker and Chris Kraus.


VENGEANCE IS MINE, ALL OTHERS PAY CASH by Eka Kurniawan
Told in short, cinematic bursts, Vengeance Is Mine, All Others Pay Cash is a gloriously pulpy joy ride of a novel that continues to explore Kurniawan’s familiar themes of female agency in a violent male world dominated by petty criminals and a corrupt police state. For you Tarantino fans out there.

SUCH SMALL HANDS by AndrĂ©s Barba
Set in the strange suffocating world of childhood, life changes for everyone at the orphanage the day seven-year old Marina shows up after the sudden death of her parents. For lovers of the austere fiction of Fleur Jaeggy. 

BASKETBALL: GREAT WRITING ABOUT AMERICA'S GAME edited by Alexander Wolff 
If, like Kyle, you tape basketball games or if you just enjoy smart sports writing, this is the book for you. Longtime Sports Illustrated writer Alexander Wolff, has assembled eight decades of the best writing on the glory of basketball.

5 INGREDIENTS: QUICK & EASY FOOD by Jamie Oliver
This high concept cookbook by celebrity chef (and wellspring of odd baby names) Jamie Oliver, is for home cooks that strive to put a quick and delicious dinner on the table in less than 30 minutes using only five ingredients. Who doesn't need this?


OLIO by Tyehimba Jess
Winner of the 2017 Pulitzer Prize in Poetry, Jess uses sonnets, songs, and narrative to examine the lives of mostly unrecorded African American performers from the Civil War up to World War I, while challenging contemporary ideas of race and identity.

NEVER USE FUTURA by Douglas Thomas
If you liked Helvetica, you're going to love Futura. Not just for type nerds, this playful history of the typeface Futura tells the story of its early avant-garde beginnings through to its importance in contemporary corporate branding as well as its critical use in artworks by Barbara Kruger and Jenny Holzer.

WHAT ARE WE DOING HERE? by Marilynne Robinson
A hope filled collection of essays by everyone's favourite contemporary puritan, Robinson trains her incisive mind on our modern political climate and the mysteries of faith. Think of it as a nonfiction companion to her Gilead series.