883 Queen Street West
416-366-8973
Mon-weds 10am-6pm
thurs-sat 10am-7pm
sun 11am-6pm
427 Spadina Road
416-487-8973
mon-sat 10am-6pm
sun 11am-6pm

THE HIGH LINE, THE MARE, AND SOME TOUGH GUYS

our reading list for December 2015


THE HIGH LINE by Diller Scofidio & Renfro 
A firsthand, behind-the-scenes account of the construction of the High Line, the public 'park in the sky' that has become one of the most beloved and visited destinations in New York City. This is the perfect book for anybody who has strolled the High Line, or who has dreamed of doing it.

THE BEST AMERICAN NONREQUIRED READING ed. Adam Johnson & 826 National
The contents of this anthology were selected by high school students in San Francisco who met every week for a year to read literary magazines, chapbooks, graphic novels and more. They students were guided by guest editor Adam Johnson, who recently won the National Book Award for Fortune Smiles, his latest short story collection. 

THE BEST AMERICAN INFOGRAPHICS 2015 ed. Gareth Cook
Infographics have become ubiquitous since computers made it a cinch to blend charts and graphs with eye-catching imagery. This book showcases visualizations from the worlds of politics, medicine, sports and arts and culture, providing a perfectly-designed window into the times in which we live.

THE BEST CANADIAN POETRY IN ENGLISH 2015 ed. Jacob McArthur Mooney
Canada's poetry scene is diverse, dynamic and, dare we say, underappreciated. This, the eighth edition of the annual anthology, features fifty of the finest Canadian poems published during 2014. A must-read for anyone with an interest in contemporary literature.

THE MARE by Mary Gaitskill
A girl loves her horse. It's a romantic trope that Gaitskilll spins into a brilliant and brutal novel. Gaitskill's girl is a disadvantaged Dominican girl, the horse a companion she sees only when she visits a wealthy white couple who want to connect with her. In beautiful prose, the book tackles the least beautiful topics: classism, racism, loneliness. 

A YEAR OF GOOD EATING by Nigel Slater
A classic cookbook is made. Over 250 recipes and ideas for good eating, with special seasonal sections for quick, weeknight eats. This book will make your holiday season delicious, and save you tons of time while doing it.

THE BIG GREEN TENT by Ludmila Ultskaya
In the tradition of Dostoevsky, Tolstoy, and Pasternak, this novel is consumed with politics, love, and belief. Set in Stalin's Moscow, it's what we think of when we think of great Russian novels – a revelation of life in dark times. 

KILLING AND DYING by Adrian Tomine
Is this the best book cover of the year? It could be. It could also be one of the best books. A collection of illustrated stories by one of today's top graphic artists, Tomine takes us into the homes and lives of hopeful and hopeless people who remind us an awful lot of ourselves.  

ROBO-SAUCE by Adam Rubin, illustrations by Daniel Salmieri 
FACT: Robots are awesome. They have lasers for eyes, rockets for feet, and supercomputers for brains! Plus, robots never have to eat steamed beans or take baths or go to bed. If only there were some sort of magical “Robo-Sauce” that turned squishy little humans into giant awesome robots…

TOUGH GUYS (HAVE FEELINGS TOO) by Keith Negley
Everyone has feelings – so says this spectacular picture book. It proves its point by showing tough guys at emotional and sometimes scary moments: an astronaut floating in space holds a photograph of his wife and child; a superhero eats his lunch alone atop a tall building; a tattooed biker weeps over a squirrel that died on the road. It will bring a tear to even the toughest among you!

FINDING WINNIE by Lindsay Mattick, illustrated by Sophie Blackall
During World War One, Captain Harry Colebourn rescued a bear cub in Ontario. He named the bear Winnie, then took Winnie to war. Colebourn's great-granddaughter recounts their incredible journey from a Canadian town to an army base in England to the London Zoo, where Winnie made a new friend, a boy named Christopher Robin.